Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA


Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Home > Design Needs > Interior Design Elements > Elevators > Elevator Control Panels

Elevator Control Panels

The control panels inside an elevator cab should be located to the right of the elevator door when facing the door from inside the cab. Where possible, control panels should be on both sides of the door. Avoid using heat sensitive buttons, as people relying on braille or tactile numbers have no means of knowing when or if a button has been pushed. Additionally, because they use touch to locate buttons, every heat-sensitive button they touch will be activated.

Elevator panels should be slightly inclined from vertical to make the buttons easier to read without crouching down. It also makes it easier to read braille and tactile characters.

All panel buttons should be raised at least 1.5 mm in height from the panel’s surface and should be no smaller than 19 mm in any direction on the surface. The call buttons on each floor should be organized in a logical pattern that is consistent within all elevators in a building.

Raised Arabic numerals, letters and other symbols should be placed to the left of the elevator’s call buttons on a colour/brightness-contrasted background. They should be at least 16 mm tall and raised from the surface of the panel by at least 0.8 mm. Characters should be in a sans serif font and not in an italic, oblique, highly decorative or unusual form. The same information indicated for each button through raised characters should also be provided just below them in uncontracted braille.

Use larger, backlit buttons, which are easier to see for people with low vision. Consider using buttons at least 50 mm in size with 38 mm dual illumination numerals (i.e., constant backlit numbers). Ensure there is good contrast between the background and the buttons.

Where provided, the panel that indicates the current floor location should be positioned so that the centre is no more than 1,830 mm from the finished floor. The floor identification information should contrast in colour and brightness to its surroundings in the elevator.

Elevator location floor information should be indicated both audibly and visually:

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

éléments de design extérieur

éléments de design intérieur

Panneaux de commande des ascenseurs

Dans une cabine d’ascenseur, les panneaux de commande doivent être à droite de la porte, vue de face depuis l’intérieur de la cabine. Si l’espace le permet, il doit y avoir des panneaux de commande des deux côtés de la porte. Les boutons thermosensibles sont à éviter, car les personnes qui lisent les chiffres sous forme braille ou tactile n’auraient aucun moyen de savoir quand ni si un bouton a été enfoncé. En outre, comme leur mode de repérage est le toucher, elles activeraient chaque bouton thermosensible effleuré.

Les panneaux d’ascenseur doivent avoir une légère inclinaison verticale qui permet aux utilisateurs de lire les boutons sans s’accroupir, et facilite aussi la lecture des caractères braille et tactiles.

Tous les boutons des panneaux doivent être surélevés d’au moins 1,5 mm par rapport à la surface du panneau, et mesurer au moins 19 mm dans n’importe quelle direction sur la surface. Les boutons d’appel à chaque étage doivent être organisés en une structure logique et uniforme dans tous les ascenseurs d’un édifice.

Les chiffres arabes, lettres et autres symboles surélevés doivent être placés à gauche des boutons d’appel de l’ascenseur, sur un fond avec contraste de couleur et de luminosité. Ils doivent avoir une hauteur minimale de 16 mm et être surélevés d’au moins 0,8 mm par rapport à la surface du panneau. Une police sans empattement est requise et les caractères mis en italique, inclinés, très décoratifs ou de forme inhabituelle sont à proscrire. Pour chaque bouton, l’information correspondante doit aussi être fournie en braille intégral, juste en dessous des caractères surélevés.

Des boutons rétroéclairés plus gros seront utiles pour les personnes ayant une vision partielle. Des boutons d’au moins 50 mm sont à envisager, avec des chiffres de 38 mm en double éclairage (c.-à-d., rétroéclairage continu). Il doit y avoir un bon contraste entre le fond et les boutons.

Si un panneau montre l’étage courant, son centre doit se trouver à au plus 1830 mm du plancher fini. Le numéro d’étage affiché doit être en contraste de couleur et de luminosité avec son milieu environnant dans l’ascenseur.

L’information sur le numéro d’étage courant de l’ascenseur doit être à la fois sonore et visuelle.