Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Home > Design Needs > Interior Design Elements > Escalators and Moving Walkways > Tactile Walking Surface Indicators

Tactile Walking Surface Indicators

TWSIs should never be used at escalators or moving walkways because these devices are reversible. The presence of TWSIs may cause congestion at the exit of an escalator or moving walkway resulting in a safety hazard.

The comb plate (i.e., surface closest to the escalator or the moving walkway, both as you step on and step off) should be marked with a colour/brightness-contrasted strip that runs the width of the step or walkway and is a maximum of 50 mm deep.

A low-level warning sound should mark both ends of a moving walkway. A person with vision loss should be able to hear the warning 920 mm before the transition between the moving walkway and the floor. Any audible warning indicators should be adjustable for environmental noise such as crowds.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

éléments de design extérieur

éléments de design intérieur

Indicateurs tactiles de surface de marche

Les escaliers mécaniques et les trottoirs mécaniques étant des dispositifs réversibles, les indicateurs tactiles au sol ne doivent jamais y être utilisés. La présence d’indicateurs tactiles de surface de marche peut causer une congestion à la sortie d’un escalier mécanique ou d’un trottoir mécanique, d’où un risque pour la sécurité.

Les plaques-peigne (c.-à-d., surfaces les plus proches de l’escalier mécanique ou du trottoir mécanique, à l’entrée et à la sortie) doivent être marquées d’une bande à contraste de couleur et de luminosité qui couvre toute la largeur des marches ou du trottoir sur une profondeur maximale de 50 mm.

Un signal sonore faible doit être incorporé aux deux extrémités d’un trottoir mécanique. Une personne touchée par la cécité doit être capable d’entendre le signal d’avertissement 920 mm avant la transition entre le trottoir mécanique et le plancher. Tous les signaux d’avertissement sonores doivent être réglables en fonction du bruit ambiant, tel que celui des foules.