Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Entrance Lobbies

People with vision loss use their remaining senses, in addition to any usable vision they may have, to orient themselves within a space. Acoustic, olfactory (i.e., related to the sense of smell) and tactile elements in a building lobby all convey important information about the organization of the space and can help with wayfinding. A logically organized, uncluttered space is easiest to navigate.

Entrance lobbies can present particular challenges for people with vision loss in terms of lighting. Give careful attention to the transition in lighting levels between outdoors and indoors. There should be a gentle gradation from the natural light levels outside to the light levels inside. You should also take into account the changes in exterior lighting levels from day to night. Further information is provided in the lighting section.

There are many ways to facilitate wayfinding in public buildings. Provide information and communications systems within the main entrance lobby, as well as tactile guidance systems that allow people with vision loss to find amenities such as reception desks, building directories and tactile maps. For more details, see the section on information and communication systems.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

éléments de design extérieur

éléments de design intérieur

Entrées et vestibules

Pour s’orienter dans un espace, les personnes touchées par la cécité se servent de leurs autres sens, en plus de toute la vision utilisable qu’elles pourraient avoir. Les éléments acoustiques, olfactifs (c.-à-d., liés au sens de l’odorat) et tactiles dans l’entrée d’un édifice transmettent tous de l’information importante sur l’organisation de l’espace et peuvent faciliter le repérage du chemin d’accès. Il est plus simple de s’y retrouver dans un espace dégagé, organisé de façon logique.

En raison de l’éclairage, les vestibules peuvent être particulièrement problématiques pour les personnes touchées par la cécité. La transition entre les niveaux d’éclairement à l’extérieur et à l’intérieur doit être étudiée avec soin. Le passage de la lumière extérieure naturelle à l’éclairage intérieur doit se faire en douceur, graduellement. Les variations des niveaux d’éclairement extérieur du matin au soir doivent aussi être prises en compte. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Éclairage.

Il existe de nombreuses façons de faciliter le repérage du chemin d’accès dans les édifices publics. Il doit y avoir dans l’entrée principale des systèmes d’information et de communication, de même que des systèmes de guidage tactile qui permettent aux personnes touchées par la cécité de trouver les éléments de commodité tels que les bureaux d’accueil, les tableaux répertoires de l’édifice et les cartes tactiles. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Systèmes d’information et de communication.