Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA


Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements


Roundabouts, also known as traffic circles, can present significant challenges for people with vision loss. In many cases, they will learn an alternate travel route to avoid encountering a roundabout. As cities choose to develop more roundabouts, they are creating barriers for people with vision loss to travel independently.

Where roundabouts are planned, an extensive public education campaign, targeted at both pedestrians and drivers, should be an integral component of any new installation.

A pedestrian crossing system at a roundabout featuring an offset island in the middle of the approach road. The pedestrian route consists of a raised crossing for traffic calming. Source: Institute for Transportation Research at North Carolina State University.

Take note of the following design guidelines:

An alternate type of guidance TWSI is recommended on road surfaces to assist persons with vision loss to navigate road crossings as roundabouts. Further information is provided in the Tactile walking surfaces indicator sub-section of the section Exteriors and Interiors – Common Design Elements.

An excellent resource to help designers visualize pedestrian crossing at roundabouts is available on the Institute for Transportation Research at North Carolina State University’s website.

Emerging technology using in-road sensors and/or video can detect approaching vehicles and determine whether they are yielding or if there is a safe gap in traffic to allow pedestrians to cross. Some systems incorporate both methods. These systems then trigger visual and audible pedestrian signals indicating that it’s safe to cross. The efficacy of these technologies is still under investigation.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

éléments de design intérieur

Carrefours giratoires

Les carrefours giratoires, aussi appelés ronds-points, peuvent représenter un défi de taille pour les personnes touchées par la cécité. Dans bien des cas, ces dernières vont apprendre un itinéraire substitut pour s’épargner un carrefour giratoire. Comme les villes construisent de plus en plus de carrefours giratoires, elles créent des obstacles qui réduisent la capacité des personnes touchées par la cécité à se déplacer seules.

Là où des carrefours giratoires sont planifiés, une vaste campagne de sensibilisation, ciblant à la fois les piétons et les automobilistes, doit faire partie intégrante de toute nouvelle installation.

Système de traverse piétonnière dans un carrefour giratoire, avec îlot de refuge aménagé au centre entre des voies d’approche et de sortie. Les piétons traversent par un couloir surélevé qui ralentit la circulation automobile. Source : Institute for Transportation Research à l’Université d’État de la Caroline du Nord.

Voici les lignes directrices de design à prendre en compte :

Un autre type d’indicateur tactile de guidage au sol est recommandé dans les carrefours giratoires pour aider les personnes touchées par la cécité à traverser les voies. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont fournis dans la sous-section Indicateurs tactiles de surface de marche de la section Extérieurs et intérieurs – Éléments de design communs.

Une étude approfondie portant sur les obstacles créés par les carrefours giratoires et les solutions possibles se trouve dans rapport publié par le NATIONAL COOPERATIVE HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM (NCHRP) REPORT 674 Crossing Solutions at Roundabouts and Channelized Turn Lanes for Pedestrians with Vision Disabilities (PDF) (en anglais seulement)

De nouvelles technologies permettent, grâce à des capteurs insérés sous la chaussée ou intégrés à des caméras vidéo, de détecter des véhicules qui approchent et de déterminer si ces derniers doivent céder le passage ou si les piétons ont le temps d’effectuer une traversée sécuritaire. Certains systèmes réunissent les deux méthodes. Ils déclenchent alors des signaux visuels et sonores indiquant aux piétons qu’ils peuvent traverser en toute sécurité. L’efficacité de ces technologies est encore à l’étude.