Clearing Our Path

Creating accessible environments ­for people with vision loss

Skip to content

Text resize: AAAA

Change contrast: AA

Français

Section Menu

Design Needs

Design Basics

Exteriors and Interiors

Exterior Design Elements

Interior Design Elements

Home > Design Needs > Design Basics > Lighting > Types of Lighting

Types of Lighting

There are six principal types of lighting:

Each one affects people with vision loss in different ways.

Both natural light and artificial lighting can cause glare, which can literally blind a person living with vision loss. The effects of glare are compounded when high-gloss materials are used. Use low-lustre finishes for all vertical and horizontal surfaces.

Natural Daylight

Loblaw Companies Limited – SSF & Co. Architects Inc., exterior sunshade louvers.
A photograph of sunshades used on the exterior of the Loblaw Companies Limited facility designed by Sweeny Sterling Finlayson & Co Architects Inc.
Loblaw Companies Limited - SSF & Co Architects Inc., the same louvers, viewed from the interior.
Viewed from the interior, a photograph of a light shelf within a window assembly in the horizontal position. The exterior louvres are in the same plane and partly visible. A rigging system raises and lowers the light shelves and the valence of the window coverings in response to late, low afternoon sun penetrating the building. Loblaw Companies Limited facility designed by Sweeny Sterling Finlayson & Co Architects Inc.

Natural daylight is the source by which all other light sources are judged. Its use has advantages and disadvantages. Although daylight is widely accepted as having a positive psychological effect on people, outdoor luminance varies greatly – it can be as high as 120,000 lux when there is direct sunlight at noon, which can be painful to look at, or it can be as low as five lux when there are storm clouds and the sun is on the horizon. People with vision loss may have problems adapting to different amounts of natural light on days that are intermittently sunny and cloudy.

Natural daylight is one of the greatest causes of glare and shadow in building interiors. Inside a building, daylight should be diffused and even, without causing glare or shadowing. Both can be problematic for people with vision loss. Effective methods to control glare and shadow include tinted window glass, translucent wall panel systems and exterior awnings and canopies. Special films that reduce solar and visible radiation can be installed on existing windows and glazing.

People with vision loss experience difficulty moving between areas where there is great contrast in light levels. It’s important to moderate light levels, especially near entrances. Interior and exterior light levels should be as close to equal as possible.

Consider the effects of natural lighting and shadowing when deciding where to place items such as entrance canopies and staircases. Entrance canopies can be effective in reducing glare from natural light sources, but they can also hide the entrance from the view of a person with vision loss. Similarly, staircases located outside should be in clear view at all times and never shadowed by canopies or other objects.

For buildings, there are many ways to mitigate both glare and solar heat gain. Exterior sunshades protect the exterior skin from direct exposure and eliminate glare. Interior window coverings with a maximum of three per cent open fabric (one per cent is recommended for western exposures) can be automated to respond to glare conditions. Computerized control systems allow the glare condition to be defined to suit users of the occupied spaces and can be easily modified if the use changes.

Natural lighting can be enhanced with the use of light shelves, which are horizontal planes or a series of parabolic louvres about 2,280 mm off the finished floor that bounce indirect light off the ceiling and deeper into the building.

Using these in tandem with automated artificial lighting controls (i.e., that turn off light fixtures when there is enough natural light) is effective in creating more indirect light that is free of glare. It also saves energy.

Skylights and other sources of natural light should be positioned so that sunlight does not shine directly into an interior space. If this isn’t possible, use tinted glazing or incorporate a shading device.

Incandescent Lighting

Incandescent lighting is produced by light bulbs that give off both heat and light and is a good alternative to natural light. Because its colour spectrum is closer to natural light than many other light sources, it was traditionally the preferred source for general-purpose illumination.

However, incandescent bulbs are energy inefficient and are being replaced in many applications by devices such as fluorescent lamps, HIDs and LEDs, which give more visible light for the same amount of electrical energy input. Some jurisdictions are attempting to ban the use of incandescent light bulbs in favour of more energy-efficient lighting.

Fluorescent Lighting

A good example of colour contrast and width in a hallway. The central overhead lighting is also useful for wayfinding.
A photograph illustrating the use of linear overhead lighting along the centre of a hallway to assist with navigation. High colour contrast used at the edge of the floor and base of the walls distinguishes width and also aids with navigation.

Fluorescent lighting consumes less electricity, lasts longer and does not radiate as much heat as incandescent bulbs. It can come in the form of tubes that create a line of light, which is the traditional lighting environment in large buildings and offices. It can also come in the form of bulbs, known as Compact Fluorescent Lamps (CFLs). CFLs provide good overall light and are increasingly popular in the built environment. Many jurisdictions encourage their use as an energy-saving measure through incentive programs and legislation.

A fluorescent tube is a more diffuse and physically larger light source than an incandescent lamp. In suitably designed lamps, fluorescent light can be more evenly distributed without a point source of glare as produced by an incandescent filament.

Fluorescent lighting has a major disadvantage in the slight flicker it produces. There are several ways to counteract this effect. Use proper lenses or shield the light source to provide even, indirect lighting. Or, use two tubes operating in phase opposition. These fixtures produce a substantially reduced flicker when used as an indirect light source or combined with prismatic diffusion covers, lattices, translucent shades or cover panels.

Today, most offices have well-designed lighting. Banks of overly bright, improperly shaded fluorescents are becoming a thing of the past.

Fluorescent lighting now comes in a range of shades in the light spectrum. The cool “blue” tones of the past were not a good match for natural or incandescent light. Today’s better formulations of phosphor inside the tubes provide warmer tones. The best “soft” or “warm” white fluorescent bulbs available now are similar in colour to standard incandescent lighting.

Dimmable fluorescent lighting fixtures, which use electronic ballasts working at a high frequency, will reduce both the flicker of light and energy consumption. Reduced flickering is less tiring and distracting for older adults and people with vision loss – particularly those who rely on peripheral vision.

If using a linear arrangement of fluorescent lighting in corridors, designers can take advantage of their directional attribute by installing the tubes in one of two ways:

Tungsten-Halogen lighting

Tungsten-halogen lighting is a type of incandescent lighting where a bulb’s filament is surrounded by an inert gas and a small amount of halogen, which makes the bulb more efficient and increases its lifespan.

Halogen lighting produces a bright white light and provides more light per watt than regular incandescent bulbs, making it a good source of task lighting. Because halogen lights are so bright, the positioning of light bulbs needs to be considered to reduce glare and shadow.

Halogen lights also give off a great deal of heat, which is an important safety consideration in any built environment. Don’t position halogen lights in an area beneath which someone with vision loss might inadvertently sit or stand and be injured from the heat. If sight is required to notice the danger, either the lights should be moved out of the way or a barrier (e.g., a railing) should be used to prevent injury.

Light-Emitting Diode lighting

LED lighting emits an energy-efficient source of light when electricity is applied to a simple circuit. LED bulbs produce light that is very similar to daylight, making these bulbs practical.

They are frequently used as a directional light source, to focus light on an object or building element such as a sign or reception desk. LEDs can also be configured in arrays within bulbs, providing multi-directional illumination similar to that produced by incandescent bulbs.

LED bulbs produce no ultraviolet (UV) radiation and little heat, making them ideal for illuminating objects that are sensitive to UV light, such as works of art.

Traditionally used as indicator lights on electronic devices, LED bulbs are now used in wider applications including signage, streetlamps and architectural detail lighting. LED lighting is also used as task or spot lighting (e.g., under kitchen cabinets to illuminate countertops).

LED Sources:

High-Intensity Discharge lighting

HID bulbs are a type of arc lamp that have a longer life and provide more light (lumens) per watt than any other light source. They are available in mercury vapour, metal halide, and high- and low-pressure sodium types.

Low-pressure sodium vapour lamps are extremely efficient. They produce a deep yellow-orange light and have an effective colour rendering index of nearly zero. Items viewed under their light appear monochromatic, which has implications for people with vision loss. Metal halide and ceramic metal halide lamps can be made to give off neutral white light, which is useful for applications where normal colour appearance is critical (e.g., TV and movie production, indoor or night-time sports games, automotive headlamps and aquarium lighting).

High-pressure sodium lamps tend to produce a much whiter light, but still with a characteristic orange-pink cast. New colour-corrected versions producing a whiter light are available, but some efficiency is sacrificed for the improved colour.

HID lamps are typically used in large areas that require high levels of overhead light and when energy efficiency and/or light intensity are desired (e.g., gymnasiums, large public areas, warehouses, movie theatres, football stadiums, outdoor activity areas, roadways, parking lots and pathways). More recently, HID lamps, especially metal halide, have been used in small retail and residential environments. HID lamps have made indoor gardening practical, particularly for plants that require a good deal of high-intensity sunlight.

Aller au contenu English +/- Options d'affichage

Éliminons les barrières architecturales

Menu de section

Exigences générales de design

Principes de base du design

Éléments de design communs - extérieur et intérieur

Éléments de design extérieur

Éléments de design intérieur

Types d’éclairage

Il existe six grands types d’éclairage :

Chaque type entraîne des effets différents sur les personnes touchées par la cécité.

La lumière naturelle et l’éclairage artificiel peuvent provoquer des éblouissements, lesquels risquent littéralement d’aveugler une personne vivant avec la cécité. Les matériaux au fini très brillant amplifient les effets de l’éblouissement. Des finis peu lustrés doivent être utilisés pour toutes les surfaces verticales et horizontales.

Lumière naturelle du jour

pour la traduction : Loblaw Companies Limited – SSF & Co. Architects Inc., exterior sunshade louvers.
Photo des pare-soleil installés à l’extérieur de l’édifice des Compagnies Loblaw limitée, conçu par Sweeny Sterling Finlayson & Co Architects Inc.
pour la traduction : Loblaw Companies Limited - SSF & Co Architects Inc., the same louvers, viewed from the interior.
Vu de l’intérieur, un panneau réfléchissant placé en position horizontale dans un assemblage de fenêtres. Les paralumes extérieurs, partiellement visibles, sont dans le même plan. Un système de levage monte et baisse les panneaux réfléchissants et la cantonnière des couvre-fenêtres lorsque le soleil bas pénètre dans l’édifice en fin d’après-midi. Édifice des Compagnies Loblaw limitée, conçu par Sweeny Sterling Finlayson & Co Architects Inc.

La lumière naturelle est la source de référence pour l’évaluation de toutes les autres sources. Son utilisation comporte des avantages et des inconvénients. Bien qu’il soit généralement admis que la lumière naturelle a un effet psychologique favorable sur les gens, la luminance extérieure varie considérablement : l’éclairement va jusqu’à 120 000 lux sous le soleil direct du midi, ce qui peut être douloureux à regarder, et diminue à seulement 5 lux sous des nuages sombres ou au coucher du soleil. Les personnes touchées par la cécité peuvent avoir du mal à s’adapter aux différentes quantités de lumière naturelle les jours où des périodes ensoleillées alternent avec des passages nuageux.

La lumière naturelle est l’une des premières causes d’éblouissement et d’ombre à l’intérieur. Dans un immeuble, la lumière du jour doit être diffuse et uniforme, sans provoquer d’éblouissement ni d’ombre, tous deux potentiellement problématiques pour les personnes touchées par la cécité. Des fenêtres de verre teinté, des systèmes de panneaux muraux translucides de même que des marquises et auvents extérieurs sont des méthodes efficaces pour éliminer l’éblouissement et l’ombre. Des films spéciaux qui diminuent le rayonnement solaire et visible peuvent être installés sur les fenêtres et le vitrage en place.

Les personnes touchées par la cécité éprouvent des difficultés à se déplacer entre des aires à fort contraste d’intensité lumineuse. Il est important de modérer les intensités lumineuses, en particulier près des entrées. Les intensités lumineuses à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur doivent être aussi égales que possible.

Il faut tenir compte des effets de l’éclairage et de l’ombre naturels dans le choix de l’emplacement d’éléments tels que les auvents et les escaliers d’une entrée. Un auvent d’entrée peut être un moyen efficace de réduire l’éblouissement dû aux sources de lumière naturelle, mais pourrait aussi masquer la vue de l’entrée pour une personne vivant avec la cécité. De même, un escalier extérieur doit être clairement visible en tout temps et ne jamais être assombri par des auvents ou d’autres objets.

Pour les immeubles, il existe de nombreuses façons d’atténuer à la fois l’éblouissement et le gain de chaleur solaire. Des pare-soleil extérieurs protègent l’enveloppe de bâtiment de l’exposition directe et éliminent l’éblouissement. Des couvre-fenêtres intérieurs faits de tissu à coefficient d’ouverture d’au plus 3 % (coefficient d’ouverture de 1 % recommandé pour les expositions à l’ouest) peuvent s’ajuster de façon automatisée aux conditions d’éblouissement. Des systèmes de commande programmés par ordinateur permettent de définir les conditions d’éblouissement en fonction des occupants d’un espace et de les modifier facilement si l’utilisation change.

Il est possible d’accroître l’éclairage naturel au moyen de panneaux réfléchissants, lesquels sont des plans horizontaux ou des ensembles de paralumes paraboliques, installés à 2280 mm au-dessus du plancher fini, qui dévient la lumière vers le plafond et plus loin dans l’immeuble.

L’utilisation combinée de panneaux réfléchissants et de commandes automatisées de l’éclairage artificiel (c.-à-d., qui éteignent les luminaires lorsqu’il y a suffisamment de lumière naturelle) est une façon efficace de créer plus d’éclairage indirect sans éblouissement, et de réaliser des économies d’énergie.

Les puits de lumière et les autres sources d’éclairage naturel doivent être placés de manière à ce que le soleil ne pénètre pas directement dans un espace intérieur. Si ce n’est pas possible, il faut utiliser un vitrage teinté ou un dispositif d’ombrage intégré.

Éclairage incandescent

L’éclairage incandescent est produit par des ampoules qui dégagent de la chaleur et de la lumière, et est un bon substitut à la lumière naturelle. Son spectre chromatique est plus proche de la lumière naturelle que celui de bien d’autres sources lumineuses, de sorte qu’il a longtemps été la source de choix pour l’éclairage d’usage général.

Cependant, les ampoules à incandescence sont énergivores et sont, dans de nombreuses applications, remplacées par des dispositifs tels que des ampoules fluorescentes, des ampoules DHI et des DEL, qui émettent plus de lumière visible pour le même apport d’énergie électrique. Certains pays tentent d’interdire les ampoules à incandescence au profit de sources d’éclairage plus écoénergétiques.

Éclairage fluorescent

pour la traduction : A good example of colour contrast and width in a hallway. The central overhead lighting is also useful for wayfinding.
Photo d’un système d’éclairage zénithal linéaire installé au centre d’un corridor, d’un bout à l’autre de celui-ci, pour aider les utilisateurs à se déplacer. Le fort contraste de couleur sur le bord du plancher et dans le bas des murs délimite la largeur du corridor et facilite aussi les déplacements.

L’éclairage fluorescent consomme moins d’électricité, dure plus longtemps et dégage moins de chaleur que les ampoules incandescentes. Sous forme de tubes qui créent une ligne de lumière, il est l’environnement lumineux traditionnel dans les grands édifices et bureaux. Il existe aussi sous forme d’ampoules fluocompactes (AFC), qui produisent un bon éclairage global et sont de plus en plus populaires dans l’environnement bâti. Beaucoup de pays ont adopté des programmes incitatifs et des lois pour encourager l’utilisation des AFC comme mesure d’économie d’énergie.

Un tube fluorescent (ou tube néon) est une source lumineuse plus diffuse et physiquement plus volumineuse qu’une ampoule à incandescence. Dans des ampoules adéquatement conçues, la lumière fluorescente peut être distribuée plus uniformément, sans source ponctuelle d’éblouissement, qu’avec un filament incandescent.

Un léger papillotement est l’inconvénient majeur de l’éclairage fluorescent. Il existe plusieurs façons de le contrer. L’utilisation de lentilles appropriées ou la présence de volets sur la source lumineuse permet d’obtenir un éclairage indirect uniforme. Il est également possible d’utiliser deux tubes qui fonctionnent en opposition de phase. Le papillotement est réduit de beaucoup lorsque les luminaires fluorescents servent de source lumineuse indirecte ou sont dotés de couvercles de diffusion prismatiques, de grilles, d’abat-jours translucides ou de panneaux de recouvrement.

De nos jours, la plupart des bureaux ont un éclairage bien conçu. Les longues rangées de tubes fluorescents produisant une lumière trop intense et mal tamisée deviennent de l’histoire ancienne.

L’éclairage fluorescent se décline maintenant en une gamme de tons du spectre optique. Les tons de « bleu » froids du passé ne pouvaient se comparer à la lumière naturelle ou incandescente. Des tons plus chauds sont générés aujourd’hui grâce aux composés de phosphore améliorés à l’intérieur des tubes. Le ton blanc « doux » ou « chaud » des meilleures ampoules fluorescentes est très proche de la couleur émise par l’éclairage incandescent standard.

Des luminaires fluorescents à intensité variable, équipés de ballasts électroniques fonctionnant à haute fréquence, diminuent à la fois le papillotement de la lumière et la consommation d’énergie. Le papillotement réduit est moins fatigant et moins gênant pour les adultes âgés et les personnes touchées par la cécité, en particulier celles qui dépendent de leur vision périphérique.

Si des tubes fluorescents sont disposés en arrangement linéaire dans des corridors, les concepteurs peuvent mettre leurs propriétés directionnelles à profit en les faisant installer de l’une des deux façons suivantes.

Éclairage tungstène-halogène

L’éclairage tungstène-halogène est un type d’éclairage incandescent. L’ampoule à filament est entourée d’un gaz inerte et d’une petite quantité d’un halogène qui la rendent plus efficace et augmentent sa durée de vie.

L’éclairage halogène produit une lumière blanche intense et génère plus de lumière par watt que les ampoules incandescentes ordinaires, ce qui en fait une bonne source lumineuse pour des aires de travail. Comme les lumières halogènes sont vives, la position des ampoules doit être planifiée de manière à réduire l’éblouissement et l’ombre.

Les lumières halogènes dégagent aussi énormément de chaleur, et il s’agit d’une considération importante en matière de sécurité dans tout environnement bâti. Aucune source d’éclairage halogène ne doit être placée dans un endroit en dessous duquel une personne vivant avec la cécité pourrait malencontreusement s’asseoir ou se tenir debout, et subir des brûlures. Si le danger est impossible à déceler sans la vue, il faut soit mettre les dispositifs à halogène hors des voies de circulation, soit installer une barrière (p. ex., un garde-corps) pour prévenir les blessures.

Éclairage à diode électroluminescente

L’éclairage à DEL est une source écoénergétique de lumière; il est basé sur l’application d’un courant électrique à un circuit simple. Les ampoules à DEL émettent une lumière très semblable à la lumière du jour, ce qui les rend pratiques. Elles sont souvent utilisées comme source d’éclairage directionnel, pour concentrer la lumière sur un objet ou une partie de bâtiment comme un panneau indicateur ou le bureau d’accueil. Les DEL peuvent aussi être configurées en réseaux dans des ampoules et elles génèrent alors un éclairage multidirectionnel semblable à celui obtenu avec des ampoules incandescentes.

Les ampoules à DEL n’émettent aucun rayonnement ultraviolet (UV) et qu’une faible quantité de chaleur. C’est pourquoi elles sont idéales pour éclairer des objets sensibles à la lumière UV, telles les œœuvres d’art.

Traditionnellement utilisées comme voyants lumineux sur des dispositifs électroniques, les ampoules à DEL ont maintenant beaucoup plus d’applications, notamment la signalisation, les lampadaires et l’éclairage de détails architecturaux. Les ampoules à DEL conviennent aussi pour les aires de travail et comme sources de lumière focalisée (p. ex., sous les armoires de cuisine pour éclairer les comptoirs).

Les sources à DEL :

Éclairage à décharge à haute intensité

Les ampoules à décharge à haute intensité (DHI) sont un type de lampes à arc qui durent plus longtemps et fournissent plus de lumière (lumens) par watt que toute autre source lumineuse. Ces ampoules peuvent être à vapeur de mercure, à halogénure métallique de même qu’à vapeur de sodium haute ou basse pression.

Les ampoules à vapeur de sodium basse pression sont extrêmement efficaces. Leur lumière est jaune foncé-orange et leur indice de rendu des couleurs, de presque zéro. Les objets vus sous cette lumière semblent monochromatiques, ce qui a des conséquences pour les personnes touchées par la cécité. Les ampoules à halogénure métallique et à halogénure de métal-céramique peuvent être conçues pour produire une lumière blanche neutre, utile pour des applications où un aspect chromatique normal est essentiel (p. ex., production d’émissions télévisées et de films, compétitions sportives à l’intérieur ou en soirée, phares de voiture et éclairage d’aquariums).

Les ampoules à vapeur de sodium haute pression produisent en général une lumière beaucoup plus blanche, mais ayant toujours un reflet orange-rose caractéristique. Il existe de nouvelles versions à couleurs corrigées qui émettent une lumière plus blanche, l’amélioration des couleurs se faisant toutefois au prix d’une certaine perte d’efficacité.

Les ampoules à DHI s’utilisent habituellement dans de grands espaces où un niveau élevé d’éclairage zénithal est requis et lorsque des sources écoénergétiques ou une forte puissance lumineuse sont souhaitables (p. ex., gymnases, vastes espaces publics, entrepôts, salles de cinéma, stades de football, aires d’activités extérieures, routes, stationnements et voies de passage). Plus récemment, des ampoules à DHI, surtout à halogénure métallique, ont été utilisées dans des petits commerces de détail et des maisons. Les ampoules à DHI ont facilité le jardinage d’intérieur, en particulier pour les plantes qui ont besoin d’une grande quantité de lumière solaire de haute intensité.